Character Naming…

10 11 2009

is a pain in the arse.

So, I had my main character, Alex. I wasn’t too happy with that name, because it’s my best friends name. But honest to god, it suits him well. So I left him with that name. Fine, he can have his way.

Then he decided he was a twin. Okay, fine, I love twins. Now I have someone else to name who’s not cooperating, and I want to rename Alex. Fair enough, I’ve got weeks to plan this.

Except I really, really cannot name these two. The suggestions I’ve had from people are generally name them for their personalities, but that feels weird to me! Their mum wouldn’t have had time to pop them out, rush off to the future to find out one is very rockstar-y, dramatic, outgoing and the other is quiet and reserved, would she?

Usually I name my characters with common names from the year they were born (1988 for these two). However, that doesn’t suit them because they’re not common guys.They’re not going to be like Trace Cyrus and already have a cool name to go with their cool image.

But their parents wouldn’t have known that, right? Sure, they could change them but I don’t see them doing that either.

 

So that’s my dilemma. Maybe I’ll give their parents a book fetish and give them weird names from books…but how do you name your characters?

 

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 11 2009
Sevvy

I use The Writer’s Digest Character Naming Sourcebook to name most of my characters because I can’t ever think of a decent name. It’s amazing, and one of my most used writing books.

10 11 2009
Four Leaf

That book looks brilliant! Thank you for that, I’m going to look into getting it 😀

Leave a Reply

